Sun Shot

(2013)  Produced by Assembly of Dust and Grammy Award-winning engineer Ryan Freeland. Featuring Reid Genauer, Adam Terrell, John Leccese, Dave Diamond and Jason Crosby. Sun Shot is one part singer-songwriter, one part alt-country and one part rock 'n' Roll, but the thread tying it all together is Genauer's heartfelt and beautifully written lyrics. In 2009 The New York Times praised Genauer's songwriting skills as some of the most eloquent “to emerge in the long wake of the Grateful Dead,” and the songs on Sun Shot may be the best work of his career.

Some Assembly Required

(2009)  Each of AOD's songs on this album are realized with an ace band and a diverse collection of collaborators including Béla Fleck, David Grisman, John Scofield, Mike Gordon, and Martin Sexton. Highlights include: opener “All That I am Now,” with Genauer trading verses with Richie Havens over a galloping, insistent beat and swirls of psychedelic guitar, the “Strawberry Fields”-esque “Arc of the Sun,” the aching beauty of “Light Blue Lover” with Genauer backed by the supple harmonies of Grace Potter and guitar work of Tony Rice, and the country shuffle of “Leadbelly,” enhanced by the masterful pedal steel of Jerry Douglas.


(2007)  AOD has created an album of easy-flowing pop-soul with Recollection. The overall blueprint — Reid Genauer's Lowell George-styled vocals, smooth backing harmonies by his band mates, and mellow funk arrangements reminiscent of Little Feat — is firmly in place on the opening cut, “Grand Design.” Genauer is joined by keyboardist Nate Wilson, lead guitarist Adam Terrell, bassist John Leccese, and drummer Andrew Herrick on ten original songs. Assembly of Dust successfully mixes upbeat songs like “Samuel Aging” with slower, ballad-paced material like “40 Reasons,” giving Recollection a nice ebb and flow.

The Honest Hour

(2004)  An album recorded live and with an ear and mind toward song craft — Genauer seamlessly melds the two and uniquely bridges that gap once and for all. The disc's nine songs are a mix of new AOD songs and re-imagined versions of songs Genauer wrote for his former band, Strangefolk. Culled from a show in Troy, NY in early 2004, The Honest Hour, the band's spirited sophomore disc, boasts both the open-sky breeziness and energy of a live show, but also the pristine production of a studio album. The songs on The Honest Hour are genuine, timeless, and substantive: a testament to critics who early on dubbed Genauer “one of the most vital voices, singers, storytellers and songwriters of today's live music scene.”

The Assembly of Dust

(2003)  A solo album by Reid Genauer entitled The Assembly of Dust. The band was originally billed under Reid's name and then as “Reid Genauer and The Assembly of Dust” after the release of this record. The line-up featured what was at the time a veritable who's who of the New England jam scene, friends whose paths had crossed countless times and had shared the stage on numerous occasions — keyboardist Nate Wilson and bassist John Leccese of Percy Hill, guitarist Adam Terrell of Groove Child, and drummer Andy Herrick of Moon Boot Lover — they would of course become Assembly of Dust.

AOD Music © 2017